Musings of a noob chapter 4 : This morning, my CR6 is cranky

So I am starting to work on a long project. A Cathedral Ruins print for my Frostgrave game.

Many-many-many (did I say many) parts to print out. Did the first 2 pieces, and then all went into heck in a handbasket.

A few things happened.

1-Thinking I had a brass nozzle issue for the mess on the plate, I removed the silicone cap and two bolts/screws fell on the plate.

Now, I am a noob there is no denying, but I am thinking : Hey this is not normal. So after powering down, removing the printer from the enclosure ('cause you can’t work in there), I found where the screws go. Not bad for a noob, huh?

«But gondolin», you might say, «there are only two holes to fit the screws into». To which I would reply : «Shut up, don’t rain on my parade!»

The bolts go on each side of the printing heater block into the Nozzle assemby. Why did these fall off? Hey man, I’m only here for the beer. Here is a pic of the Heater block an the Nozzle assembly in red (sans bolts).

2- having restarted the printer I tried to feed and back up filament to see if I could get some plastic dribble on the plate. My extruder system was making a nocking soud.

Oh-O! I am thinking gunked-up gear in the feeder. Easy-peasy right? NOT!

Have you ever tried opening the extrusion mechanism of a CR6-SE? There is a small but hard to compress spring in there, which is a B***H to replace even with the help of the creality turorial on Youtube. Sure! Easy for Creality… , the part is opened and closed by a petite operator with tiny fingers who works for Creality and probably has to do this several time a week during printer assembly on the production line. Whereas I have fingers like sausage rolls! (mmmmm sausage rolls, aaaaaarghl !)

So after fidgeting with the printer for about 90 minutes, my printer us up and running. We are friends again.