110v or 220v can you use either?

As I live in Ontario most of my plugs are for 110v. Which isnt a problem, but i have a spare plug for 220. Would there be any concern over having a 220v plug made and having my power supply selected to 220v? Wouldnt this also make the printer more energy efficent? Im no electrician, but my dad ran the idea past me so im curious what you guys think herd.

If the power supply has a 220 setting and much of the world runs them on 220, are you really willing to take a chance on blowing up your printer and burning your house down. If so then go for it. I mean what have I got to loose. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

But seriously folks best ask an electrician if you are not sure

1 Like

There should be no difference in efficiency, in fact 220 may be a bit less efficient as there’s more potential for heat generation. There are certain types of transformers and amplification type circuits that can get potential benefit from running 220, but nothing I could think of in a 3d printer.

1 Like

I’d be somewhat to very cautious about doing that.

“220V” on the power supply means 215V-230V at 50Hz, not 60Hz that’s used in North America.

It really depends on the transformer used in the power supply along with its circuitry and whether or not it overheats at 60Hz and 220V.

If the power supply transformer is driving a full wave rectifier directly into the switching power circuitry, then you won’t have any issues (other than it will probably run warmer and at lower efficiency) but if the output of the transformer only goes through a half wave rectifier, you could have some (potentially) serious heating issues as well as it being very inefficient and unable to provide full current. The half wave rectified circuitry is more likely because it results in a cheaper power supply (the AC current provides the base clock for the circuit which eliminates the designer to put it in).