3d Printer Advice

Hello everyone.
I was wondering if anyone could tell me what 3d printer I should buy to print PMMA/Acrylic. Obviously
I would like to print other materials as well. I just joined this site and would like to start learning about 3d printing. I have been a cad designer / CNC programmer operator for over 20 years. I love the trade and love learning new things. Price Range would like to be under $5.000 CAD. If you have a minute to explain what printer you would buy and why. I would greatly appreciate it. As For tolerance to be held. I’m a machinist, so it would be nice to know what i would be expecting out of the machine. Parts I plan on making would not be high volume. Any help on what to buy and any extras that I need to look at buying ( Software , Parts kits) would be appreciated.
If i have left out anything i might need to research, feel free to advise. Other than that, Have a Great day everyone.

Hi @Hobby1

That’s actually a really good question. Being the fact that PMMA is a thermoPlastic I am not sure if its Thermoset or ThermoForm Plastic.

From what I gather most of the PMMA I can find are Thermoform so it should be pretty printable on most printers that would be able to print Low Temp Nylon. I would suspect the warpage on it would be very high.

The side problem that you would run into mostly is if you could get it in a format that could be accepted by any 3D printer. Most of the hobby-grade printers will accept 1.75mm or 2.85mm Filament designed to be on spools. Depending on the printer you may be able to find one with a pellet extruder although currently, they are very rare out of the box.

If you are looking for some general characteristics I would suggest Med Temp, (300 deg) All metal hot end, Direct drive and an enclosure.