Cr-10 high heat hotend, marlin code update

I am very new to the 3D world and right away I have a big issues, or at least a big issues for me. I have a cr-10 high heat hotend installed on a ender 3 max and I can’t get the software to work so I can update the hotend new Temps. Everything I turn up the temp I get thermo run away and I can’t get even close to the high heat. Would anyone have a new file of high temp hot end and current version of marlin ready to go on a SD card for firmware update.

Please help.

Tim

How high are you expecting your hotend to go? Did you install a kit? Like new thermistor, heater cartridge, and all metal hotend?

Yes, it is a creality high temp hot end. Says it runs to 300 c and from what I have read they say to go about 15 degrees above that in the software.

Just looked it up.

Id say give it a shot compiling your own firmware. Its not hard, just a bit tedious.

Luckily you have a popular creality printer, so you should be able to get a copy of the stock configuration files, and make the 4 or 5 changes to make use of the higher temperatures available to you.

That’s the problem, I can’t get platformio ide to work with out giving me some short of erro in vs code.

I was hoping someone out there has done the same and may have a code I code put on SD card for update until I figure the programs out.

Question for the group, as I’ve never done this myself: Can the firmware not be compiled using the Arduino IDE? I’m wondering why so many people seem hung-up on platformio?

For @Verynew25: