CR-10 Max Firmware - Leave or Update?

I keep reading about swapping out the default Creality firmware in the Max for that made by another developer.

Although I have no serious complaints about Creality’s FW (hey, I’m a relative newbie to 3D printing so what do I know), I’m interested in what the consequences are of making such a low-level change to the Max: can I reload the default FW if I don’t like the new stuff? What do I lose in features or function by swapping? What do I gain? Can Octoprint and other programs still access the printer with non-Creality FW?

I’d prefer not to brick or reduce the functionality of my printer just because I don’t know what I’m doing. Anyone who has done a Max FW swap / “upgrade” able to help me out? Input gratefully accepted.

unless you have issues with machine, changing firmware can lead you a good experience or waste of weekend fixing or calibrating again. i don’t like to change unless i get significant benefit of that upgrade.

1 Like

I am a huge believer in “if it isn’t broke don’t fix it”

I have seen a lot of machines bricked or having more issues after the FW change. if you have a specific issue and you know its addressed in the firmware, yes change it, If not I wouldn’t

1 Like

I agree - fixing things that aren’t broke is how a 1 hour fix-it project turns into a week-long nightmare.

But what got me concerned and potentially interested in a FW “upgrade” are the constant comments I read about thermal runaway in these machines. Depending on the age of the post you read or video you watch, it’s either a ‘common problem’ or ‘its fixed’. How do I know if my E3Pro and Max are protected against such a scenario?

If my machines are protected then I’m less interested in a FW change. Yeah, the E3Pro screen interface is right out of 1995 and awkward to use, and replacing that would be nice, a FW change to do it seems a bit extreme.

Great question, this is actually one of the few reasons that would make me change my FW