Ender 3 V2 - Intermittent Homing Issue (+-0.5mm)

Hi everyone,
Thanks for letting me be part of your forum.

I could use some help. The Ender 3 V2 I got from 3DPC keeps intermittently homing 0.5mm higher or lower than it should. I’ve been printing for a couple of years and have a few printers, so I know how to level a bed - but it always seems to start the print too high, then I level again, trying to get it to start at the “new normal” and it goes back and grinds across the buildplate. Then, I level again and goes back the other way. I use the z-offset to fix it every single time and it’s driving me nuts.

I don’t think the z-rod isn’t slipping because it’s really tight. Although, when it kicks in sometimes there is a distinct “chonk” where the gantry releases some tension somewhere.

Thoughts? 3D printing is actually an income source for my family and having one printer down becomes a problem during busy times. (I have an Ender 3 Pro and Ender 5 Pro and they work amazingly well)

Your Z axis rod might be to tight and hanging up, the Clunk noise could be it dropping free and catching up to the position the steeper was tying to move it to. Also check the z axis limit switch and make sure it is fastened tight in place, if it is loose then it can move around and affect your z offset.

1 Like

HI, @Als3DPrinter Welcome to the forum, Truly glad you found us.

I have seen this on a couple of machines and I have found a couple of different solutions. I will go through them in order of commonality.

1. Loose Brass nut on the Z-axis leadscrew, In shipping these screws often come loose so just give them a double check to ensure they are snug.