Filament wont go through filament detector

I am very new to 3d printing, and i just got my first printer a couple months ago.

I tried putting new filament into my printer, but it won’t go past the filament detector. I have printed quite a few things before with different filaments and I had no problems. Now I can’t get anything to go past the filament detector.

I’ve tried looking up videos for possible solutions but I haven’t found anything.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas?
Thanks

Cut the end of the filament so it has a sharpened tip… sort of like a pencil… this will help prevent it from getting hung up at the filament switch and at the exruder.

i cut it to a sharp point but it wont get past the filament detector. I can see about a 1/2 cm of it in the tube after the detector but it wont go past that point. i’m not certain but i suspect a jam in the detector.

Try blowing it out with compressed air. Not saying that is the solution, just an idea.

Cut filament on a 45 deg angle. Try rotating the filament as you push it through, sometimes filament detectors can be a pain this way.

I have one that requires the filament to be relatively straight, tough for mid to end of rolls. Just have to bend it flat. 2 cents.

while reading and using everybody’s advice i realized that a long piece of plain white filament from my last print had broken of in the tube and due to the color i did not see it creating my “invisible” blockage. I would like to thank everybody who commented for helping me to fix my problem. i never would have figured it out if not for following up on all of your advice. thank you so much.

What is it that Homer says…DOH!

1 Like

i have a k1 max and i sympathize, that filament feed system isnt very good;
i bypassed the runout sensor due to those snagging issues;
it works ok ( if you feel you must, you can use a small portion of room temp filament to fool that sensor that it has run out…) ;