G-Code & Ender 3 Help

I have a couple of questions I hope you can help me out with.

A while back I changed the motor to my z-axis. Unfortunately, the g-code from my Cura then had the z-axis raising too high to print. I studied the g-code to the cat that comes with the Ender 3 printer and adjusted the beginning g-code. It works great - for small projects. For larger projects, it sends the skirt (and probably the print) off the bed.

How do I adjust the g-code so that it sets the start at the right position? I’ve tried looking it up, but I’m just getting confused.

Is there a grid displayed somewhere that tells me what the points are on the bed (in case I have to manually adjust it again)? I’m going on the (possibly erroneous) assumption that it’s set up like a standard grid with the bottom left corner being 0,0 or the center of the quadrants and the bed being the upper right quadrant (all positive #s). Am I close?

Is there anywhere to go that I could actually learn G-code for the Ender 3? I’ve found a few sites that explain the general uses, but nothing that goes into how it really works.

Thanks for your help.

Front left corner of the bed should be 0,0.
There are two Gcode commands that can be used to set where your origin point is. They are basically saying how far away the bed is from the end stop switches.
M428 sets your home position to where the print head is currently located
M206 lets you add or subtract from the currently saved home position
Both can then be saved to the EEPROM with M500

I usually end up using M206 most of the time because for some reason M428 which should be more simple seems to give me weird results sometimes. Your milage may vary.

What I usually do is move the X and Y to where the printer thinks 0,0 is. Then measure the difference from the tip of the nozzle to the corner of the bed where actual 0 is.