Heating failed. Bed PRINTER HALTED Please Reset

I have a 6yr old CR10 S4 (400mm X 400mm). It has 2 slides for the ‘Y’ axis bed and 2 ‘Z’ screws. At that time I was offered the printer with a ‘touchscreen’ so I opted for that. The original MB was a Creality MKS Base V1.5.The printer has operated flawlessly since day one.

I recently decided to upgrade the printer and installed an SKR 1.4 Turbo, TMC2209 drivers and TFT35. Please note I’m a newbie with all this stuff and completely new to Marlin.

I understand basic electronics with respect to polarities, etc, but I’m not so familiar with components. Here’s my current problem. Tested nozzle heating, OK. Tested bed heating, temp increased from 22c to 29c…failed. Photo attached of current connections.

Checked all wiring okay. Tested some leads for continuity, ok. Nothing had ‘smoked’. I noted that there was another component which looks like a mosfet (see photo) but I think it is some kind of relay and is the cause of my problem since *I did not install it. There was a little wire (white) connecting that component (relay) to the D12 plug of the MKS motherboard. D12 seems to be used for a ‘servo’?? What would they have connected that to? Anyway, the guys at 3D Printing told me it wasn’t needed!? I have a feeling that it is and now I don’t know where to connect that white wire on the SKR board.

Any help would be appreciated cause I’m at my wits end trying to find an answer to my problem on the web.!
Current connections|690x388 !
What is this|690x388

1 Like

First off, I’m not familiar with the CR10 so if some of my questions seem odd, it’s because I’m comparing it to my E5Pro.

Is the thermistor for the bed properly attached to the bed itself? For that matter is the bed heater properly attached?