Hello from Belleville Ontario

I just received my Ender 3S1 and went through a couple of setup videos and printed the rabbit which came on the SD card. This is my first go with a 3d printer. Here are a couple of photos, one of the rabbit and one of the steel plate. I may upgrade to a pei plate as it seems they are well worth the upgrade. I imagine I still have a few adjustments to make until I get the hang of these. The print left a fair bit of residue on the plate as well.

Hi @gsully welcome to the forum, Glad to meet you.

Don’t worry much about the residue, Just means your nozzle is a smidge too tight on the bed. As long as you are not contacting the bed the res will clean off with your next print.

The first prints look good, nothing wrong with that. they will get more exciting I promise. Hope to see you here often

Jason
Thanks for the response, should I adjust the z offset for this?

I had the same problem as I just started learning as well. Nozzle was too low and permanently etched my board but still works fine. I found out that I had to do about 3 or 4 manual levelling sequences then watch the print very closely at first. I used a 4 line skirt and watch the nozzle clearance. This gives you time to make corrections before the actual print starts. if I see an issue (Z too high or too low) I click on the top area of the home screen then next page select Z axis comp and move it up or down accordingly. You can also adjust the 4 corners on the go if you see it is not sticking.

Find a good bed levelling test print that puts a thin block in each corner and the center this also works well for adjustments on he go. Here is one that I use. You can scale it to what works best for your bed.

Have fun.

Blenky thanks for the response and tips on this issue

1 Like

I went through my whole setup again today tramming the bed and resetting my z offset, sure seems to have made a big improvement in overall print.

1 Like