How can I tell if the filament feeder or hotend is the problem ender 3v2 no extrusion happening

Hi,

I’m new to 3d printing and just got the ender 3v2 at the end of December. I was able to print but the test cube and test cat sculpture kept coming out wavy. I mean each layer seemed to be offset from one another.

I ended up buying the spring upgrade for the bed, the filament feeder upgrade and a new hotend assembly. I bought the new hotend assembly as it turns out I had partly crushed the brass nozzle as I had it hit the bed several times from incorrect levels. I couldn’t remove the nozzle after striping it so I bought the replacement.

now I can’t get it to extrude filament after replacing the hotend.

so my question is how I can tell if the hotend or the filament feeder is the problem?

Diagnosis 1- the motor knob does spin with the turn wheel is on it so it works but I can’t completely tell if the teeth are grabbing the wheel and gear.

Diagnosis 2 - the hotend replacement does heat up and is indicated as such on the display. I have the bowden tube tight in the hotend. is there some trick to making sure it’s locked in place in the hotend? does it have it a dead center point.

Diagnosis 3 - it’s motherboard v4.2.2 and firmware 1.0.2 fyi.

I am trying to be patient with it. I had no idea this was such a fiddly process. I admit I kind of bought on it a whim and didn’t read enough of the user hassles. at this point I almost wish I bought a less capable machine that just worked albeit with a smaller output profile.

I am determined to get this working smoothly. its just a bit frustrating when I seem to get one thing working and something else doesn’t seem to work.

thank you for any advice you can give.

oh and I do have the needle cleaning set but didn’t seem to be clogged so im not sure if it’s feeding at all.

1 Like

Ah, welcome to the 3d Printing World, or maybe down the rabbit hole.