How Much Does a 3D Printed House Cost in 2021?

Every new innovation comes to the market with a price that tends to go down over time. Large concrete 3D printers are no exception.

Just as with most technologies, the prices are dropping as new, better, and more affordable products are being developed. Further helping prices to lower are new, innovative concrete mixes.

As there are a number of companies dabbling in 3D printed buildings around the globe, it’s impossible to give an exact price for 3D printed houses. Instead, we’ll check out a few of the most recent and promising projects and their reported prices.

That said, you’ll see that a 3D printed house can cost as low as $10,000, and sometimes even less. Let’s take a look!

1 Like

I am sort of skeptical about this. I work in construction and although I have no fears of 3d printed houses replacing carpenters, there are some structural/practical things that come to mind.

1. Concrete buildings are super cold, you’ll have to spend more to heat it, also I would think that the walls would be much thicker than a traditional wood build home. In a traditional build wall, you have the outer wall finishing, plywood on top of a frame, then insulation and wiring/pipes, vapor barrier and then your drywall.

How do they plan on insulating the house and running the wires? Sure in the image it shows wiring in metal pipes, but that only works so well for electrical. I cannot see a way to put in your water pipes unless you case them in a structure made out of metal or wood. Same with HVAC. even in traditional construction we have to hide HVAC sometimes in a bulkhead, but given that everything is concrete, it feels much more industrial.

1. Are they only using the 3d concrete printer for the exterior walls, or are they doing the internal walls as well?