Modding Ender 3v2 to Move On Switch

Hey all, I want to move the power switch from the back of my Ender 3v2 to the front so I don’t have to reach around and fumble for it all the time. I see instructions online, but no materials list.

Can anyone give me a list of parts that I need to do this upgrade, and does 3DPC carry any of it? Thanks!

Could you post a link to the instructions that you mentioned? In theory, you should be able to simply extend the connections for the power switch.

This is pretty much the only one I found: ENDER 3 V2 Front Switch Upgrade - YouTube

1 Like

The problem is that I don’t know what the wire is that I need to get. I’m new to this, so I can’t exactly identify by sight what it is.

1 Like

You use an online calculator for this. https://www.paigewire.com/pumpWireCalc.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

You’ll need to look at your power supply for most of the information, and you might want to check this article as well. https://3ddistributed.com/duet-wifi/how-to-choose-wire-gauge-and-length-for-your-3d-printer/#:~:text=How%20can%20you%20calculate%20the,heated%20bed%20draws%20nearly%2012A.

Thank you!

The first link doesn’t work for me though, do you have another calculator I can use?

So, uh, talking to my boyfriend I realize now why trying to do this modification is not really a good idea.
I was starting to feel overly confident because of my newfound skills (thanks to working in setting up a 3D Lab at school), and I guess I starting flying a little to close to the sun.

If the mods could please lock this thread that would be great.

1 Like

No need to lock this thread, it was a good question. You must have some skills to have done what you did but you only advance those by doing more challenging things. Changing the switch is not a big deal you just need to be careful and putting the switch at the back was a foolish idea by Creality anyway. They saved a few cents in wire doing that.