Newbie Questions

As a complete newbie to 3D printing (BiQu B1) I feel out of my comfort zone joining a forum where everyone talks a “foreign language” so to speak. I wish there was a section of the forum for newbies like me to ask the really laugh-out-loud questions that maybe most newcomers want to ask but don’t want to embarrass themselves.

Anyway, I’ve got 7 or 8 separate questions for your entertainment but I don’t know where to post them. I feel they’d be best kept together, as in a Newbie section rather than scattered into the relative subject areas … filaments, maintenance, slicers etc.

Let me know how/where you’d prefer me to list them.

Frank

Welcome and don’t worry every single person here has been where you are. there is a tech help section just for the B1 (BigTreeTech Biqu B1 - 3D Printing Space) as well as forums for parts/filament/slicers but I suppose if you want all these questions in one place the general forum is probably the best. don’t worry you’ll get answers to everything.

2 Likes

OK thanks Glenn. I’ll just carry on with this entry for the questions.

By the way Jason said in a recent video they now have 5 of the BiQu’s so maybe I made a good choice.

Before I start with my questions I’m curious about a white filament that was a freebie with the printer. It gave a nice finish to my first parts and I’d like to get more. Anyone know what it is or where to get it? After that ran out I basically threw a dart at the wall and ordered a spool of Duramic PLA plus. Seems to work fine.

OK, without further ado here are my questions.

Question 1

Bed Levelling

The printer gives a squawk every time I power up to tell me that bed leveling wasn’t done and ABL(?) has been invoked … Or something like that. I took the time to set it up according to Jason’s installation video and on occasion (twice in 2 weeks) I’ve used my sheet of paper to re-check and nothing has changed … Still perfect. Is there something I’m missing?