Oakville, old guy, new to 3d printing

Hey all,

I have had the printer for a while now… FLSUN I3 plus - Prusa I3 knockoff.

I am really a vintage computer hobbyist, but I want cases for my projects and therefore want to print.

I really struggle with modifying models for printing. Is there anyone in the Oakville/Burlington/Mississauga area who would be willing to teach… help me get some of my stuff going?

I have printed some stuff off it. It works, I just need help to do it.

James

Hi James, welcome.

You need help with making models or modifying existing models toprint? What software are you wanting to learn?

Open to suggestions.

Fusion 360 has been suggested.

Curia 4.1 is my slicing program.

James

Fusion36o is a decent free or inexpensive cad program to make models. There a ton of resources for training for free for this. I recommend this one productdesignonline.com and his YouTube channel offer easy to follow tutorials and he"s available to answer questions readily. Fusion360nhas has had a lot of evolution and he’s done a good job keeping up…

Cura has a lot of resources too. Is this for your own creations?

No… not for the most part… maybe I get there… I am usually making cases for projects that have been made for retro computing… many of these have been designed by others, but since mine might not be the exact same as someone elses… maybe part size or wiring etc… changes might need to be made… I have tried on some… and seem to make the model worse… not better :slight_smile:

Os there something right now you are trying to do and finding you can’t? Maybe we can help one step at a time

1 Like

well playing with it today… and just having basic troubles of getting PL to feed and leveling the bed… AHHH joy 3d printing. :slight_smile:

Hi @Bikerbob

Are you looking to “modify models” or create your own?

Modifying an .stl is generally not a trivial operation and takes quite a bit of learning.