openSCAD Techniques, Tricks, and Hacks

I’ve been using openSCAD almost to the exclusion of other design tools, and although it has substantial limitations (something like a c “struct” would be peachy, for instance) its advantages are more than enough to make it a keeper.
I’ve opened this topic to provide a place where we can trade ideas and code snippets in openSCAD.

1 Like

openSCAD plays well with source code management.

Having opened the topic, I feel obliged to toss in the first post.
One of the biggest reasons that I prefer working in openSCAD is just the fact that it is a source-code environment.
Anyone who’s used to coding will immediately feel at home. (I’ve been programming since about 1976)
Since you work by writing source code, it’s a very natural fit to manage the version history of your designs using a source code management system such as git or subversion. (Anyone else remember SCCS?).

You don’t have to accumulate blocks of commented-out code to be able to refer back to previous iterations of your designs - simply look back to the corresponding version in your repository.

A tutorial on source code management (git is a nice choice) is beyond the scope of a “3D Printing Space” thread, but no matter which one you choose, it’ll make it easy to keep track of your work.

1 Like

A great video to get started with OpenScad by Dr Vax.

Epsilon!

Here’s a pretty basic technique. Once you start using openSCAD, it won’t take long before you create a model that won’t render.

Here’s a very simple example:

cube ([10,10,10], center=true);
translate([10,0,0]) cylinder (h=10, d=10, center=true);

If you cut/paste this snippet into openSCAD and try to render it, you’ll get this message:

UI-WARNING: Object may not be a valid 2-manifold and may need repair!

The problem is that the cube and cylinder intersect along a line - that they touch but do not overlap. The same thing will happen at point intersections as well, and when adjacent holes just touch.