Painting Metal effects tutorial

I’m not an expert, just been painting for about a month and enjoyed a process. I have been suprised how easy it is to create nice metal effects and thought I would share the process.
Painting plastic or resin parts starts with sanding and priming your models. A simple rattle can of rustolum primer is a good starting point.

Next decide on a base top coat. In this first example I used a brown gloss.

One light coat is all that is required, move your hand fast for each pass, turn the model, quick pass again. You want just enough paint to cover the primer colour

1 Like

Now using a brush and inexpenisive aryclic craft paint you can buy from Walmart or Micheals.

Brush the black over the complete object and then wipe off with a paper towel. You want the dark to remain in the shadow areas. You want a “grudge” appearance…

Next you need to dry brush a highlight colour. In this case I’m using a gold metalic craft paint.

Dry brushing is super easy, dab you brush into the paint, and then dap the brush onto a paper towel. You want “just enough” paint on the brush so you can build up the highlight colour.

If you want a cast bronze look, don’t sand the surface of the print very much, you ant little rough areas where the dark paint will stick. If you want a shiny gold finish, you have to do a lot more primer coats and remove ALL surface faults…

The trick is to light brush the “dry” brush onto the model raised area and slowly build up your highlight colour. Slow and steady brushing or dabbing technique…

When you get the overall finish you like, let the paint dry over night and then clear coat with “Pledge”. This is a waterbased clear varnish that is inexpensive, super easy to apply and available at Walmart & Canadian Tire.

Brush the clear coat on, it’s very thin, so requires a few coats to get a nice gloss. Wait about 30 minutes between coats.

1 Like

This example uses a gold rustolium paint finish for the base coat.