PETG or PLA? After a bad experience with ABS

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the 3D printing universe and looking for some guidance around filaments.

I am printing medium/large toys for my kids and the end result with PLA is satisfactory but the toys break very easily. I’ve decided to try ABS (bought many filaments :sleepy:), but unfortunately it is being a pain to print with ABS. It cracks, it does not stick to bed… At this point, I’ve tried everything I could… I’ve watched multiple videos on YouTube, changed Cura settings, high temperature, low, glue, brim and everything else you can imagine. lol

I will deal with ABS in the future when I get more time to experiment but for now, I wonder if PETG will be easier and more durable for the toys. I am considering exchanging the filaments I’ve bought but I would love to go with the right one. What I mean by the right one is a more durable material and easy to print.

For curiosity, this is mostly the (best) result I am getting with ABS after way worst results:

So, thought the first:

I’m guessing your printer isn’t enclosed, because that sure looks like differential cooling. ABS shinks as it cools. (Well, all plastics do, but styrenes shrink a lot.) The bottom layer of your print is as hot as the heat bed - presumably around 100 degrees - and the top layer is as hot as the nozzle - presumably around 260 - but in between the print will cool to the ambient temprature.

Without an enclosure, that ambient temperature is going to be room temperature. And, okay, depending on where you are that can be really warm - yesterday afternoon I switched on a printer and the ambient temps the nozzle/bed were showing was 31 degrees, which is awfully hot in a home! But even 31 isn’t really hot enough to keep the print from cooling.