Questions about orienting models for resin 3D printing

Hi all, I’m new to 3D printing in resin and have a few questions about optimal build plate positioning when preparing models to be sliced for printing.

• I’ve seen people on YouTube preparing their resin models at a 45 degree angle instead of straight up and down, similar to in the below image. What is the reason for this (other than printing faster the model faster)?

• If a model is printable without supports on an FDM printer, is it true that the same model will be printable without supports in resin as well?

• What might cause a model to come detached from the print bed during printing?

I had my first failed resin print yesterday, where the model detached from the bed/got stuck to the bottom of the vat half way through, and I was wondering how I can best prevent mishaps like that going forward. Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

I don’t have a resin printer but I think the 45° thing is mostly to optimize drainage. It’s easy to trap too much resin inside a model making it heavy and causing it to detach. You could potentially make a bowl full of resin and leave very little inside the tank. I don;t think speed has anything to do with it as resin printers harden a whole layer at once so the more layers the more time. an object are 45° will mostly likely increase layers as it would be relatively taller.

Supports work backward on resin printers as gravity is pulling away from the bed/Support the part is being built on.

I don’t know how your print would have come detached. maybe it was full of resin? maybe it cured for too long and stuck to the film at the bottom?

1 Like

My understanding is that the slicers work best at certain angles before placing supports for the object being printed. Have seen reference to 30, 45 & 60 degree angles. Do not want to mislead anyone as I am only a beginner in this field.