Start a Business from 3D printing

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to 3D printing and CAD. Would anyone be willing to share how to get started selling there own 3D printed creations?
Once you got a Facebook page, how to outreach and cheaper ways to automate orders, payment, etc?

I’m certain there is a TON of Made-In-Canada potential here that could benefit with one another!

Thanks!

JF

1 Like

I mostly do work that has become a more passive income, Using cults3d (high commission charge) to sell STLs, because it’s a passive income (I have a full time job already) this works well because there is not month carrying costs. Order automation and actual store fronts cost money every month. Other sites that sell 3d models have a monthly fee that I won’t commit to.

I do direct sales all through FB. Again promotion for me isn’t key. Some posts to associated groups help kick off people to find you. All my work is specific to 1/10 Scale remote control designs.

1 Like

Honestly I’ve thought about it, but it behooves anyone interested in making money at a hobby to practice first. I’d love to start making things and selling them, but I plan on taking my time and enjoying it first before I even attempt to monetize it. You need to make sure there’s a 98% chance of every print succeeding, and that your quality is there before you try and put it out there, so that you can begin, and build on, a good reputation.

But I know what you mean, I’d love to have a hobby pay for itself.

1 Like

This can go many ways.

Create and sell on sites like Shapeways.
Build your own site with Shopify, GoDaddy,1and1.
Make a Facebook group for business and use Facebook promotional systems.
Instagram.

A combination of all themnis prob most beneficial.

My site uses the WordPress commerce plugin and when I post new items it automatically posts them to my Facebook group. Same for Instagram (since Facebook owns Instagram).

Build up a trend if you can.

On the flipside…