Trying to figure out bed leveling

I recently purchased a used Creality CR10V2. I added a CR Touch and upgraded the firmware. Now I am “trying” to level the bed. And for some reason I am just not getting it. I think I have it leveled, and then the print head/nozzle comes down to far. I spent the weekend working on this and got no where, other than pulling my hair out, and I am bald to begin with. So, what I have done now is went in and reset the defaults, I then with the use of a small “level” leveled the bed that way. If anyone has/knows of a good video/or step by step please forward it to me. I am a complete newbie at this. Seeing what some of you print with these is amazing to me. Thanks for any and all help.

I had similar issues when I first started just a month ago. I found out that first the surface you set your printer on should be as level as possible as the printer limits for levelling itself is a mere 2mm. Once I levelled my desk it made it much easier to do levelling on my bed.

I always do about 3 or 4 manual bed levelling before I start a print and when the print starts I monitor it for the first few minutes and make adjustments to the bed level and the Z height on the fly if required. I find a 3 or 4 row skirt gives you enough time to get this completed (depending on the size of the print).

Also get a good bed levelling test print to see how it lays down. Here is one - just remember to scale it to close to the maximum of your bed. Here is one I like to use. Bed level test 200*200mm by k3rbot - Thingiverse

Youtube can be your best friend.

Hopefully that helps.

Happy printing.

Hi Brun5150! I suspect the issue you’re having isn’t about bed leveling at all but instead is incorrect Z height. Your bed can be 100% perpendicular to the x gantry and still drive your nozzle into the bed if your printer thinks the nozzle is higher up than it actually is.