Wham Bam flexible plate

I purchased a flexible build plate for my indoor 5+. I’m relatively new to this hobby and I’m really enjoying it, I was getting frustrated trying to get larger parts off the glass plate. I thought I’ve done my research and the Wham! Bam flexible plate sounded wonderful. Set it all up first three worked like a charm, That was my luck can’t get it to stick to start a decent print or keeps coming undone halfway through. I have cleaned it with alcohol and steel wall 2 to 3 minutes at a time still doesn’t seem to work. Is this one of these things that sounds better than it really is. Right now I’m using PLA played at 70 hot end at 200. I have played around with raising the plate for first layer rays in the hot end for first layer as high as 80 and 215 still no luck

Maybe try a little hairspray or purple glue stick. Are your first layers coming out ok?

@Jan Hello Jan,

70C for Bed PLA is aibit high, Have you Tried 50-60C bed. Keep Nozzle at 200-210C

@Glenn Yes, I Agree With Purple Elmer’s Glue stick! That’s my Go to!!

A couple of points to keep in mind:

1. When you’re new, it’s tempting to think that things will be predictable and consistent and as advertised. The reality is that filament varies wildly in it’s characteristics. A filament’s characteristics all depends on the formulation used by the manufacturer, so from one brand of PLA to the next, the ideal printing temperature can vary. The settings that work well for one roll may not work at all for another. Sadly, that’s normal and not anything you can predict except through experience. Indeed, I’ve had to change from settings from one colour PLA to the another of the same brand as though the dye they used changed the temperature characteristics. The unfortunate thing is that manufacturers don’t seem to test each colour of filament individually. I have one brand of PLA-F that only prints well at 40C BELOW what is printed on the label, so be prepared to experiment and keep notes.