What CR-20 Mods Have You Done?

I’ve had my CR-20 Pro for about a year. There’s not a lot of love out there for this printer but it can make some impressive prints.

I immediately set up a Raspberry Pi with OctoPrint and got a 1080P web cam to have total remote control. I can watch the print from anywhere in my house.

The first mod I printed was the chain guide so the cables in the back don’t rub on each other.
Bed Bracket Creality CR20s pro Cable management by JSW72 on Thingiverse: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4255651

I was spending a lot of time trying to get prints to stick to the flexible magnetic sheet that came with the printer so I bought the Creality glass plate which I’m very pleased with. I use the top side and have not had issues with PLA but I sometimes use have issues with PETG - but I’m new to this material.

As the weather got cooler and I print near a door, it was time to invest in an enclosure. I looked at the fun DIY projects but settled on the Creality made fabric enclosure. It’s great to stop warping of prints from a draft and keep the dust off. The kids an see what’s printing and I don’t have to worry about them getting burned. The temperature inside gets to about 37 and humidity drops to 15%. It’s a good time to dry some filament that wasn’t packed away nicely.

In November my extruder release lever broke which gave me the excuse to upgrade to the Micro Swiss Direct Drive Extruder with All-Metal Hotend for CR-10. It introduced zebra banding or salmon skin into my prints. I was in a panic to get Christmas presents done so didn’t try to fix it with the Creality board. Instead of bought the SKR mini E3 V2 board which solved the problem immediately. This SKR board is so quiet I can’t tell when the printer is actually printing and it sits behind me all day! I love how quiet that is.