Freecad is...there's gotta be a better way

Freecad is frustrating, im new to the whole thing. Very familiar with vector graphics, but having a very hard time wrapping my head around the line segment system and how they join.

I keep getting basic shapes with 2 constraints, I just can’t seem to resolve them. Getting incredibly frustrated tonight.

What do you guys use to design parts? Did you take a class? If there an easier way?

I cut my teeth as a graphic artist in illustrator and corel draw (the latter one holds a dear place in my silk screen heart)

I use fusion 360. I took a short Udemy course to get myself familiar with it although did have experience with Autodesk products about a decade ago.

1 Like

I use thinkercad is very basic but works for me. Is free and is on the web.

I also use tinkerCAD, the learning curve is very small compared to other CAD software. It is basic but when you are starting out (like myself) it’s great, get a grasp of the basics and when you need more you have a good foundation to build on when you move on to other CAD applications

we run kids camps using TinkerCAD at Brickworksacademy.com, great foundation tool and easy to learn. then graduate to something like fusion 3d

I was in the same boat as you with FreeCad since i was use to 2D before and now wanted to creat in 3D
After looking in YouTube I did came across a series of video on FreeCad that help me a lot. I’m still learning but since then I’ve managed to creat a lot of items.
So search for Dr Vax in YouTube he explain very nice and slow and easy to follow then do a few experiment, it’s my go to for primary design now.
Hope this help!!

2 Likes

Designed, Sliced, ready to print.

2 Likes

If you don’t care that your designs are public, Onshape is similar to FreeCAD, but with a much better interface. No install, only online. You can also search and use other public models.

I really like the assembly features, where you can fit multiple parts with standard hardware.