PETG, that elusive material : uses?

So, as mentioned elsewhere, got myself a CR6-SE. I use my printer for my tabletop RPG’s (Frostgrave, Pathfinder, X-wing). I don’t like printing mini’s but it is great for terrain and scatter. (think I will get resin printer for mini’s)

I also backed the rocky Sunlu Filadryer project on KS. When fulfillment was due, I had an add-on option for a spool of filament at a discount. Who am I to pass up on a discount?

So, the filament I received is PETG. As a 3D printing noob, I have yet to deal with this strange creature. The box gives temperature for nozzle and bed and that is fine. But why would I use PETG rather than PLA. What specific uses do you folks have for PETG instead of PLA? How do you like it?

I print around 50/50 Petg and pla. I usually use Petg where heat is likely (my car coin tray for example, inside a car in the summer is too hot (potentially) for PLA. I also choose petg over pla where I need a bit softer use, like a live hinge. pla is brittle where pets is a bit more flexible. Some will say stronger but maybe, pets will bend before it breaks pla bends some and shatters. I tend to get better details with PLA but that can easily be settings I print mostly parts so fine details are not critical to me. I could likely dial settings better for pets to get better details but I don’t need that when I choose to print petg.

I like both.

Thanks kite,
the summer heat issue is a good tip. I made some cute parts for my printer which partially broke when I tried to install them. Will try them with PETG.

Hey Gondolin, No problem. Kite works, my name is Alex. I have only been printing for a little over a year. My observations. PetG is a ‘bit’ more flexible. It isn’t ‘flexible’ if you take my point. PLA is like glass it is strong but if you place it where it is made to bend it will break quickly. Petg is a bit more like plexiglas it will give a bit before it breaks.