Silicon Carbon print bed

Hi all, I’m having trouble my newly acquired Creality Silicon Carbon print bed. I’m printing with PLA PRO and I cannot get it to stick. Any suggestions?

I found wash it only with a drop of dish soap and progressively more warm water, like I’m slowly, but more firmly trying to excise demons, then let air dry, never touch with anything other than a plastic scraper, and then only when I have to. Rewash if adhesion issues show up, every few days to a week.

PLA bed temp 70C. (Yup)
PETG 90C.
TPU 50C.

1 Like

Thanks. But it’s brand new and I’ve tried a few prints and it won’t stick. I’m going to try a bit higher nozzle height next.

I have no experience with the silicon carbon bed, but with PLA, my go-to regiment is to wash the bed with soap and warm water with a soft bristle scrub pad, same as the one doctors use to scrub their fingers before operation. I dry the build plate with a microfiber cloth handling it on the edges only. I then apply strokes of glue stick to the whole plate, no need to cover the whole thing, just keep the lines maybe 2 cm apart in both the x and y direction. Then with a Kimwipe dampened with water, in circular motions, spread the glue to a nice even coating. When the plate heats up, I don’t see any evidence of glue because it’s spread thinly. When I go to print, have no worries that a 20 hour PLA print is going to let loose. Albeit, I do print in an enclosure to minimize any draught or changes in room temperature when my furnace kicks back at night. I do leave one door slightly open to the enclosure as PLA has a low melting point and the heat break needs that cooler air to work properly. As long as you don’t touch the prepped surface, you can wipe again with the Kimwipe and go a few more times printing without cleaning and reapplying the glue. If the print is large and a long time to print, don’t take the chance, clean the plate again.