So you have run out of filament during a print

Hi! Noob here
Got a CR6-SE and so far so good. No poof! No filament sensor issue. Good on/off switch.

I was wondering, if my print job is not finished and my PLA runs out and I dont have any PLA on hand… Could I use a spool of PETG to finish the job?

my knee jerk response to you would be no, Most of the time the print settings on both filiments are so different that you would more than likely not be able to maintain the print quality across the gap.

However I believe both filaments will physically “stick” to one another but I think you may create a weak joint that could easily crack apart.

2 Likes

I was afraid it would be something like that. Thanks for the reponse.

No Problem, I may actually try it at some point just to experiment, I’m answering based on general knowledge.

I see you have the title «leader». What is you role here? Are you just a moderator or do you hae other duties as well?

I am listed as a Leader on the forum, I think the best way to describe is a moderator. I think that can be interchangeable. I have a couple of more admin things I can do but monitoring the forum is big part of it.

I’m also the Tech supervisor for 3D Printing Canada so that is my normal day job. Although I work for 3DPC I am trying not to make all of my answers 3DPC focused unless they need to be. I am basically a nerd getting paid to do what I love doing.

2 Likes

Pleasure to make your acquaintance.

I am a noob with no experience in 3dpr. I got a CR6 on kickstarter. So far so good. Intend in getting a resin printer and a washing curing machine from 3DPC in the future as I am not really satisfied with the result of printed mini’s for RPG’s on a FDM.

I do think filament printer is quite okay for terrain though. Hence my question about mixing types of filaments. I have no idea, when I start a job, wether I will have enough filament on my spool.