Tevo Tarantula Newbie

Hi

I hope I’m in the right area

Yes I am New to the 3d printing world.
I picked this up without any software or instructions.
He said he used it once or twice about 2 years ago.
I believe the 2 yrs, Had to blow a lot of dust off.

I broke the Z axis mount After these runs, I somehow pulled a wire off the z limit
switch, Fixed. (Trying to figure out how to make a new mount in Free cad) (yes another
newbie brain melt lmao)

It came with rolls of pla (orange) and abs (green) and a sdcard with 5 gcode files on it.

A Few Hours on Youtube Later. Haven’t found the one that explains this!!!

Cleaned up the Wiring nightmare, leveled the table, plugged it in, loaded the pla.

Ran these off the sdcard

I noticed on the rolls the pla had 210°C and the abs had 200 to 240°C
I figured out how to change the temp and speed while running, I made multiple runs.
Changing temp, speed, filament.

Learned if you don’t push the filament tube in far enough it Jams.
Figured out how to clear that quick enough.

With the cooling ducts for the 1st few layers extruder motor would jump (like when the tip was
plugged) then it would be fine for the rest of the run.
I adjusted the table lower (just in case it was too close) made no difference with the jumping.

These were the best runs

I hope I gave enough info to start
No idea where else to go to from here
Help Me Please!!!

Looks like some calibration is in order. Sounds like you already know how everything works so here’s guide that’s pretty complete to fix everything else or expose the issues On the old pla. Maybe get a new roll to get started. Old filament can have problems like water absorbsion, best to start with new.

https://teachingtechyt.github.io/calibration.html#intro

1 Like

That Would be So Nice if that was my only problem!!!
No I’m not holding my breath lol
Good thing I have a roll coming tomorrow from Amazon.
So 2 years is a Bit old Eh?
Roughly how long are they good for
I’ll check out the link tomorrow