Unwanted filament unload

Hi. I have an ender 5pro and sometimes it will unload all the filament in the tube before it starts printing. I have tried different SYL file and still unloads the filament. What causes this and how do I fix it?

so the filament is running backward out of the printer when a print starts? Can you post the Gcode somewhere so we can see what commands are at the beginning of the file?

I don’t know if it’s possible for one of these motors to spontaneously run backward but someone can chime in if it can. it seems like something the printer is being instructed to do

I am quite new to this so am not sure how to find and post gcode but I loaded the file on my Eryone ER20 and it is printing ok. This happened once or twice before but I don’t know what I did to get around it. And it only happens to my Ender 5 pro. Weird or what?

ok… well the slicer program makes a file that contains specific instructions for your 3d printer to print the part., every movement, all the temperature settings speeds and directions for every layer are in that file and are generally specific to the printer you sliced it for. Where do you get the STL files you are giving to the printer?

Happy 3D Birthday to me! Yesterday marked the 1 year anniversary of my first printer shipping. It was also an Ender 5 Pro, so let me throw my 2 cents in.

First some clarification…

An STL is a STereo Lithography file. Lithography is a method of printing (originally 2D) by using using a mask that would only allow ink through a section of it onto a piece of paper below. Change the mask, use another colour and repeat and you gradually build up a colour picture. For a long time, this was the standard for printing posters, t-shirts, etc.

STereo Lithography builds a 3D object by applying the ink (filament) in layers - only in certain desired places - to build up a physical model. Same concept, more modern tech.